Guest Reviews

(Ref: menumania.co.nz)

Brian G.

5 Stars rating
7th May 2013

We have just returned home from an excellent meal at this fine establishment. It only opened 2 days ago but the service was seamless. The waitstaff were lovely and talkative. One man in particular (I think he was the owner) was especially nice and happy to answer any questions. We had the mixed entree. I am so glad that we went for this as everything on it was divine!! For our main we shared a chicken Tikka Marsala and a mali kofta also a chicken naan and a kashmiri naan. For pudding it was recommended that we get the Gulab Jamun. We were again not disappointed. A great end to the meal. Earlier today I wrote a review about Great India. I said that it was the best restaurant in Wellington. Zaika blows Great India out of the water, it is AMAZING!

We will definitely be back and look forward to returning. I wish this restaurant all the best and I really do hope it does well.

We have been back to Zaika a week after my initial review and again we were not disappointed. This is a top top restaurant with exceptional staff. I see us frequenting this restaurant a lot in the future. Well Done Zaika!!

Denise

5 Stars rating
16th May 2013

My Indian and friend dined there a week ago and the food was amazing. Just about all Wellington Indian restaurants seem to taste the same using a lot of the base sauces. On talking to the waitering staff they said that all the food was made fresh. You could definitely task the difference and there was a real deep of flavour.

We had the chicken kadai and lamb sag – delicious.

The waitering staff were really attentive, but not to the point of being annoying. Real nice staff, I wish them success given they had just opened – which is another thing to their credit – new opening restaurants can have issues, but everything ran seamlessly well.

Ayat

5 Stars rating
14th May 2013

Dined here with my friend, my favourite dish is Kadai Chicken and Paneer Tikki, I have been to most of indian restaurants and by far having it in Zaida has set the bar high by adding the flavour of good service and great ambiance in the restaurant made the dining there a great experience.

Quality of food, flavour of the food, friendliness of staff was indeed a five star experience.

Joey

5 Stars rating
14th May 2013

I walk past every day and thought I’d check the reviews here before dining. After seeing all 5 stars I thought I’d go in and check out the dinners there to see if it really was as good as it sounds.

It’s better than that. Possibly the best service I’ve had in Wellington along with the best Indian I’ve had in New Zealand.

Great meals, great service, great staff and a great price. Recommendations for starters and mains from the staff were spot on. Will be going there again in the near future no doubt.

Sarah B.

5 Stars rating
12th May 2013

Dined here last night with a group of nine. Generous pourings of the wine, and reasonably priced. We shared three mixed platters for entree and these were delicious – onion bhajis, samosas and tandoori chicken. I couldn’t decide between two lamb dishes but went for the lamb saag and it was delicious, very flavourful. I had a garlic naan and didn’t have any of the rice that was provided for the table. The staff were happy to bring more rice when we ran out. Attentive staff – refilling water, and drinks.

Shame I was too full for dessert. Will be back to try another lamb dish and hopefully a dessert as well.

Definitely recommend this place – well done and keep it up!

Walt K.

5 Stars rating
11th May 2013

Great dining experience in the CBD, nice decor and great for our family meal. The Hari Bhara Kebab entree was delicious. We had both Fish Of The day curries – beautiful, and one vegetarian (plenty to choose from) all were sooooooo goooood. This has to be the best for authentic Indian, real passionate and most professional hospitality… I believe lunches and business lunches will go down a treat… There’s even the 20 seat VIP room with a Lazy Susan….fun! Thanks to management and staff, really nice evening we had.

Manu

5 Stars rating
11th May 2013

Excellent food and awesome hospitality.

Best Paneer Tikka I have ever had in New Zealand is at Zaika .. Main was delicious-each curry was well balanced and very delicious. Best part was excellent service.

Peter J.

5 Stars rating
10th May 2013

Dined their on 8-05-13 with a group of seven. best lamb rogan josh. Lamb just melted in my mouth so yummy. Nice ambience, soft music was just a perfect night out.

Definitely recommended to friends n family and will go back their again.

Thanks for great night out Zaika. Cheers

Celia W.

5 Stars rating
8th May 2013

What a fantastic meal we had at Zaika….. Six of us holidaying in New Zealand from Australia had the best Indian food ever…. The service was absolutely fantastic and the owner and staff were amazing. I can certainly recommend this restaurant, great food, prices not unreasonable, BYO if you want to… We enjoyed it so much, that when we came back to Wellington, after two weeks of touring New Zealand, we booked in again to enjoy another fantastic meal. Highly recommend this restaurant to locals and tourists…… Good stuff…

Rony V.

5 Stars rating
8th May 2013

I dined here last week and was truly impressed with the food. My lamb was delicious. My wife is vegetarian and she reckons that was the best saag paneer she ever had. Thumbs up to Zaika . We will be back soon.

Anna L.

4 Stars rating
7th May 2013

Looks might be a bit deceiving as I had walked past a few times since the refit and wasn’t drawn in, but today I am glad that I was. The moment you walk in the atmosphere is warm and welcoming, the staff are great and friendly.

I had a lunch time special which arrived quickly, steaming hot and fresh. The Naan bread was soft and delicious accompanied by a fragrant bowl of rice, flavoured I think with a bit of cinnamon and I had the Rogan Josh which melted in my mouth. I was really impressed with the flavours and highly recommend to try.

Gaurav H.

5 Stars rating
6th May 2013

Guys, If you truly want to pamper your tastebuds this is the place to be. Zaika (Indian translation of ” Flavour”) truly stands by its name. We went for a quick lunch but were truly overwhelmed with the service and food it had to offer.

We felt the difference between this one and the other Indian restaurants in town. Will surely will visit more than once. Kudos to the Chefs and the management.

A great dining experience.

I strongly recommend “Butter chicken” and Laccha Paratha”… n healthy Mango Lassi……

jessica

5 Stars rating
5th May 2013

Absolutely delicious food and great service! I recommend all of you to give this new restaurant a try and I am sure none of you will be disappointed….The decor is soft, seating is comfortable and their private function room is great…I have been there a couple of times and will definitely be going there again…..Cheers to Zaika!

Kiki K.

5 Stars rating
4th May 2013

We dined here for lunch this week. The lunch menu is excellently priced at $11.50 for a non-veg curry, rice and naan. The naan was perfection, light and fluffy (and not burnt as they often are at other restaurants). The Chicken Tikka Masala was very good and the lamb biryani was one of the best I’ve had in Wellington. The service was friendly and attentive too. Well done Zaika for offering delicious Indian food at reasonable prices.

Andy E.

5 Stars rating
30th April 2013

Had an amazing meal at Zaika last night, the service was amazing, very polite and informative waiter who had some great suggestions and truly cared about the quality of food that was served. The food was superb and came out in a very timely fashion. I would recommend to any wellingtonian to come and try out their divine food and service, all of the people at my table agreed zaika was the best Indian food available in Wellington, if not New Zealand.

Karthik R.

5 Stars rating
28th April 2013

I recently visited Zaika for dinner with my wife. First of all, being an Indian I know that Indian cuisine is not all about being hot or spicy but a complex medley of flavours. The chefs at Zaika have got this spot on. Nevertheless the food was delicious and I could not stop smiling with every bite. The portion sizes are quite generous too.

The restaurant has a very cozy ambiance and would be perfect for those chilly winter evenings or rainy afternoons. The staff are very friendly and informative. We had great food and a great time. In my books, Zaika is the best authentic Indian restaurant in town without a doubt. Looking forward to my next visit!!!

Merilynne C.

5 Stars rating
28th April 2013

Great authentic Indain food…the flavours were incrediable, full of spices to tantilise the tastebuds, well balanced and great for a traditional cusine. Staff were friendly and efficent.

I recommend also trying a King Fisher beer from India to complete the experience.

Asif

5 Stars rating
25th April 2013

We ordered Chicken Tikka Masala, Seek kebab & Biryani everything was excellent. Good staff & great ambiance. The decor and the location is great. I would highly recommend this place as one of the best Indian restaurants in Wellington.

Plus the portion sizes are very generous. Try it once you wont be disappointed. Till then Bon Appetite!

Ashwyn S.

5 Stars rating
24th April 2013

My work mate and I went there for lunch the other day. I ordered biryani and it was very tasty with good portions. They provided excellent customer service. Wellingtonions u must check out Zaika!! Will definitely go there again!

Mairaaj M.

5 Stars rating
24th April 2013

It is a very nice restaurant to have your meal or dinner. Today I tried Shahi Paneer at the restaurant. It was awesome. Nice flavour and paneer was also soft. I loved the freshly made Naan. Service was quick. I had a lunch combo $10 for meal which included one main with Nann & Rice… Quantity was also big for Lunch.

To sum up I enjoyed my meal and would recommend this restaurant to my friends & family.

Varun M.

5 Stars rating
24th April 2013

Amazing food! Authentic Indian food, great quality and amazing service.

The only thing which I being an Indian truly missed here was a place which offered me the taste from back home, all other places have modified the Indian cuisine.

Zaika offers a difference and is truly the best food I have had in ages!

Highly recommended!

Contact Information

Zaika Indian Bistro & Bar

160 Willis Street,
Te Aro Wellington
Ph. 048018883 , 0211704720 ,
       0211154429
yhospitality@xtra.co.nz

What tripadvisor Says?